Wellington CityCommunity profile
Skip to content

Wellington City

About the profile areas

The 2018 population for Wellington City is 202,740, with a population density of 7.00 persons per hectare.


Note: This page displays the area boundaries used for the 2018 Census. In some cases, these are significantly different to the pre-2018 areas. For more on this, see the Census 2018 page.

Location and boundaries

Wellington City is the capital of New Zealand. Wellington City is located at the south-western tip of New Zealand's North Island. Wellington City is bounded by Porirua City in the north, Lower Hutt City in the north-east, Wellington Harbour in the south-east, Cook Strait in the south, and the Tasman Sea in the west.

Name origin

Wellington City is named after the first Duke of Wellington, who later became the British Prime Minister.

Profile areas
Wellington City

Land use

Wellington City features both urban and rural areas. The urban areas include residential, commercial and industrial land use. Rural land is used largely for farming, particularly sheep and cattle grazing. Wellington City encompasses a total land area of about 290 square kilometres, including substantial areas of coastline, parkland and bushland.

Included areas

Wellington City includes the suburbs and localities of Aro Valley, Berhampore, Breaker Bay, Broadmeadows, Brooklyn, Churton Park, Crofton Downs, Glenside, Grenada North, Grenada Village, Hataitai, Highbury, Horokiwi, Houghton Bay, Island Bay, Johnsonville, Kaiwharawhara, Karaka Bays, Karori, Kelburn, Khandallah, Kilbirnie, Kingston, Lyall Bay, Makara, Makara Beach, Maupuia, Melrose, Miramar, Moa Point, Mornington, Mt Cook, Mt Victoria, Newlands, Newtown, Ngaio, Ngauranga, Northland, Ohariu, Oriental Bay, Owhiro Bay, Paparangi, Pipitea, Rongotai, Roseneath, Seatoun, Southgate, Strathmore Park, Takapu Valley, Tawa, Te Aro, Thorndon, Vogeltown, Wadestown, Wellington Central, Wilton and Woodridge.