Thames-CoromandelCommunity profile
Skip to content

Thames-Coromandel District

About the profile areas

The 2018 population for Thames-Coromandel District is 29,904, with a population density of 0.14 persons per hectare.


Note: This page displays the area boundaries used for the 2018 Census. In some cases, these are significantly different to the pre-2018 areas. For more on this, see the Census 2018 page.

Location and boundaries

The Thames-Coromandel District is located on the north-eastern coast of New Zealand's North Island, about 100 kilometres east of the Auckland CBD. The Thames-Coromandel District is bounded by the Pacific Ocean in the north and east, the Hauraki District in the south, and the Hauraki Gulf in the west.

Name origin

Thames-Coromandel is named after the former Thames Borough and Coromandel County, which were named after the British ship Coromandel and the Thames River in England.

Profile areas
Thames-Coromandel District

Settlement history

European settlement dates from the 1830s, with land used mainly for timber milling, farming and fishing. Gold and mineral mining were established in the 1850s, resulting in rapid population growth until the 1870s. Expansion continued during the late 1800s, aided by the opening of the railway line in 1898. Dairy farming became the principal industry from the early 1900s. Population growth resumed from the post-war years, when tourism and holidaymaking became popular, particularly on the western coast. More substantial growth occurred from the 1960s, especially on the eastern coast. The population of the District increased gradually between 1996 and 2006, rising from about 25,000 to about 26,000 people, and then was relatively stable to 2013.

Land use

The Thames-Coromandel District is predominantly rural, with urban areas in the main townships of Thames and Whitianga, the smaller townships of Cooks Beach, Coromandel, Matarangi, Pauanui, Tairua and Whangamata, and numerous villages. The townships are located mainly on the eastern and western coasts, and are popular holiday areas. Rural land is used largely for agriculture, with mussel farming in the Hauraki Gulf also being an important industry. The District encompasses a total land area of about 2,300 square kilometres.


The Thames-Coromandel District is served by State Highway 25 and the Auckland to Coromandel Ferry.

Major features

Major features of the District include Coromandel Forest Park, numerous islands, the Hauraki Rail Trail, Goldfields Shopping Centre, Butterfly & Orchid Garden, Goldmine Experience, Mill Creek Road Bird & Reptile Park, The Waterworks Theme Park, Whiti Farm Park, HighZone Adventure Ropes Course, Driving Creek Railway and Potteries, Thames Small Gauge Railway, Coromandel Goldfield Centre and Stamper Battery, Coromandel School of Mines and Historical Museum, Thames School of Mines & Mineralogical Museum, numerous beaches, Thames Hospital, Mercury Bay Multi-Sport Park and several wineries.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Thames-Coromandel area were the Māori people.

Included areas

The Thames-Coromandel District includes the localities of Hikuai, Islands-Thames-Coromandel District, Moanataiari, Parawai, Pauanui, Tairua, Te Puru-Thornton Bay, Te Rerenga, Whangamata and Whitianga.