Far North District CouncilCommunity profile
Skip to content

North Cape

About the profile areas

The 2018 population for North Cape is 1,602, with a population density of 0.02 persons per hectare.


Note: This page displays the area boundaries used for the 2018 Census. In some cases, these are significantly different to the pre-2018 areas. For more on this, see the Census 2018 page.

Location and boundaries

East Ward is bounded by the Pacific Ocean in the north, the Whangarei District in the east, the localities of Ngapuhi-Kaikou and Ohaeawai in the south, and the localities of Hokianga South, Hokianga North and Karikari Peninsula-Maungataniwha in the west.

Profile areas
North Cape

Settlement history

European settlement dates from 1819 when a Church Mission Settlement was established in Kerikeri. Early industries included ship building, whaling, timber milling and dairy farming. In 1840 The Treaty of Waitangi was signed both by the Māori Chiefs and British Crown. Population was minimal until the late 1800s, aided by the opening of the railway line, growth in fishing industries, and coal mining at Kawakawa. Growth took place from the late 1800s into the early 1900s, when land also became used for horticulture. Expansion continued from the post-war years, particularly in Moerewa, Opua and Paihia during the 1960s and 1970s as tourism became popular and access to the area was improved. Population growth took place in Kapiro from the early 1980s. The population of the area increased slightly between 1996 and 2013 as new dwellings were added to the area.

Land use

East Ward is a rural and growing rural-residential area, with small townships at Kawakawa, Kerikeri, Moerewa, Opua, Paihia and Russell, and numerous small settlements. Land is used largely for dairy farming, horticulture (orchards and market gardens) and viticulture, with forestry, commercial fishing and tourism also being important industries.

Major features

Major features of the area include Bay of Islands, Bay of Islands Maritime Park, Cavalli Islands, Motukawanui Island, Motupapa Island, Moturua Island, Stephenson Island, Urupukapuka Island, numerous other small islands, Bay of Islands Marina (Port Opua), Opua Harbour, Whangaroa Harbour, Paihia - Russell Ferry, Paihia Wharf, Bay of Islands Airport (Kerikeri), numerous beaches, Kawiti Glow Worm Caves, Bay of Islands Vintage Railway, Waitangi Treaty Grounds, Bay of Islands Golf Club (Kerikeri), Kauri Cliffs Golf Course, Marty’s Golf and Archery Range, Waitangi Golf Club, Kerikeri Mission Station (including Kemp House and the Stone Store), Pete’s Pioneer and Transport Museum, Rewa’s Village, Cherry Park House, Pompallier Mission, Russell Museum, Frigate HMNZS Canterbury, Flagstaff Hill Historic Reserve, Rainbow Warrior Wreck, North Tec (Bay of Islands Campus), Bledisloe Domain, Kerikeri Domain, Bay Sports Grounds Waipapa, Kerikeri Sports Complex, Turner Centre at Kerikeri, Fairy Pools, Rainbow Falls, Haruru Falls, Mangonui Forest, Omahuta Forest, Opua Forest, Puketi Forest, Russell Forest, Waitangi Forest, Ake Ake Vineyard, Cottle Hill Winery, Fat Pig Vineyard, Kainui Road Vineyard, Kapiro Vineyard, Marsden Estate Winery, Omata Estate (winery), Paroa Bay Winery, Pukeko Vineyard, Lake Manuwai, Lake Omapere, Kawakawa Swimming Pool, Kerikeri Swimming Pool, Whangaroa Community Swimming Pool and numerous schools.

Included areas

East Ward encompasses the localities of Bay of Islands, Haruru Falls, Kaeo, Kapiro, Kawakawa, Kerikeri, Mangapa-Matauri Bay, Moerewa, Okaihau, Opua East, Opua West, Paihia, Pokere-Waihaha, Russell, Waihou Valley-Hupara and Waitangi.