Far North District CouncilCommunity profile
Skip to content

Hokianga North

About the profile areas

The 2018 population for Hokianga North is 798, with a population density of 0.02 persons per hectare.


Note: This page displays the area boundaries used for the 2018 Census. In some cases, these are significantly different to the pre-2018 areas. For more on this, see the Census 2018 page.

Location and boundaries

Hokianga South is bounded by the localities of Hokianga North and Waihou Valley-Hupara in the north, the locality of Ngapuhi-Kaikou in the east, the Kaipara District and the Tasman Sea in the south, and Hokianga Harbour in the west.

Name origin

Hokianga South is named for the area south of Hokianga Harbour, which was named from the Māori word “hokianga” meaning “the circumstance of returning (of Kupe)”.

Profile areas
Hokianga North

Settlement history

European settlement dates from the 1820s, when kauri trade and ship building industries were established. Growth took place during the late 1800s, particularly in the townships of Horeke and Rawene. Timber milling remained an important industry until the early 1900s, when dairy farming became the dominant industry. The population declined between the 1960s and 1980s, largely due to the decline in small dairy farming. The population continued to decline slightly between 2001 and 2013, a result of some new dwellings being added to the area, but a decline in dwelling occupancy rates.

Land use

Hokianga South is a predominantly rural area, with small townships at Horeke, Omapere, Opononi and Rawene, and numerous small settlements including Koutu, Motukiore, Taheke, Waima, Waimamaku, Waiotemarama, Wairere, Wekaweka and Whirinaki. Land is used largely for farming and forestry, with tourism also being an important industry.

Major features

Major features of the area include Hokianga Harbour, Pukewharariki Forest, Waima Forest, Waipoua Forest, Tane Mahuta (Giant Kauri), Hokianga Hospital, North Tec (Rawene Campus), Hokianga Ferry, South Head, Koutu Boulders, Wairere Boulders, Clendon House, Hokianga Historical Society Museum, Mangungu Mission House, Labyrinth Woodworks & Maze, Freese Park, Rawene Domain, Trounson Park, Arai Te Uru Heritage Walk, Four Sisters Walk, Waiotemarama Loop Track, Yakas Walk, Rawene Mangrove Walkway, Horeke Hall, Rawene Community Hall, South Hokianga Memorial Hall, Taheke Community Centre, Totara North Hall, Waimamaku Hall and numerous schools.

Included areas

This area encompasses the localities (Census area units) of Hokianga South, Omapere and Opononi, and Rawene.