Whanganui DistrictCommunity profile
Skip to content

Whanganui District

About the profile areas

The 2013 population for Whanganui District is 42,150, with a population density of 0.18 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Wanganui District Council area is located on the west coast of the North Island of New Zealand, about 200 kilometres north of Wellington and 450 kilometres south of Auckland. The Wanganui District Council area is bounded by the Ruapehu District Council area in the north, the Rangitikei District Council area in the east, the Tasman Sea in the south, and the South Taranaki and Stratford District Council areas in the west.

Name origin

Wanganui is named from Māori words meaning 'big bay' or 'big harbour'. It is also known as Whanganui.

Land use

The Wanganui District Council area is predominantly rural, with an urban area around the lower reaches of the Whanganui River. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 2,400 square kilometres. The urban area takes up less than 1% of the total Council area, but is home to about 90% of the population. Rural land is used largely for sheep grazing, beef and dairy farming and forestry, with some horticulture and orcharding.


The Wanganui District Council area is served by State Highway 3 and State Highway 4.

Included areas

The Wanganui District Council area includes the suburbs and localities of Balgownie, Bastia Hill, Blueskin, Castlecliff North, Castlecliff South, Cooks Gardens, Durie Hill, Fordell, Gonville East, Gonville South, Gonville West, Gordon Park, Kakatahi, Kowhai Park, Laird Park, Lower Aramoho, Marybank, Maxwell, Mosston, Otamatea, Putiki, Spriggens Park, Springvale East, Springvale West, St Johns Hill, Tawhero, Upper Aramoho, Wanganui Central, Wanganui Collegiate, Wembley Park and Williams Domain.