Greater Wellington Regional CouncilCommunity profile
Skip to content

Wellington Harbour - Hutt Valley

About the profile areas

The 2013 population for Wellington Harbour - Hutt Valley is 299,178, with a population density of 2.55 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Wellington Harbour & Hutt Valley is located at the southern end of the North Island. Wellington Harbour & Hutt Valley is bounded by the localities of Maungakotukutuku and Ōtaki Forks in the north, the locality of Kahutara in the east, Cook Strait in the south, and the Tasman Sea and the localities of Elsdon- Takapūwāhia, Porirua Central, Tawa Central, Tawa South, Churton Park North, Churton Park South, Paparangi West, Paparangi, Woodridge, Grenada Village, Grenada North, Takapu, Adventure, Resolution, Pāuatahanui and Paekākāriki Hill in the west.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from 1840, when townships were established at Lambton Harbour (Wellington) and Petone. Land was used mainly for farming and market gardening. Rapid residential growth took place from the 1880s into the 1920s, spurred by commercial and industrial growth and the opening of railway lines. The most significant residential development occurred from the post-war years, particularly from the 1950s. Gentrification and renovation of inner Wellington took place from the late 1970s, including transformation of the waterfront. The population was relatively stable between 1996 and 2001, and then gradually increased, rising from about 270,000 people in 2001 to over 299,000 in 2013.

Land use

Wellington Harbour & Hutt Valley features urban, rural and rural-residential areas. The urban areas include residential, commercial and industrial land use. Rural land is used largely for sheep and cattle grazing, water collection, conservation and forestry. Wellington Harbour & Hutt Valley encompasses a total land area of nearly 1,200 square kilometres.


Wellington Harbour & Hutt Valley is served by the Johnsonville-Porirua Motorway, the Wellington Urban Motorway, the Centennial Highway, State Highway 2, Hutt Road, Western Hutt Road, Wellington International Airport, several wharves and ferries, The Overlander Train and various suburban and regional railway lines.

Major features

Major features of the area include the Wellington CBD, the Lower Hutt CBD, the Upper Hutt CBD, Westfield Queensgate Shopping Centre, Phoenix Mall (Centre City Plaza), the Petone Commercial Activity Area (Jackson Street), Wellington Hospital, Hutt Hospital, Trentham Camp (Military Facility), Rimutaka Prison, The Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa), Museum of Wellington City & Sea, National War Memorial & Carillon, New Zealand Cricket Museum, The Colonial Cottage Museum, Petone Settlers Museum, The Dowse Art Museum, The Film Archive, National Library of New Zealand, The Weta Cave, Wellington Cable Car, Wellington Zoo, Zealandia, Silver Stream Railway Museum and Steam Train Rides, Government House, Parliament House, Capital E, Carter Observatory, Staglands Wildlife Reserve, Bluebank Blueberry & Emu Farm, Circa Theatre, City Gallery Wellington, Michael Fowler Centre, Westpac Stadium, Mt Albert National Hockey Stadium, Trentham Racecourse, Wellington Family Speedway (Te Marua), Kartsport Wellington Raceway, various golf clubs, Belmont Regional Park, East Harbour Regional Park, Kaitoke Regional Park, Rimutaka Forest Park, Pukuratahi Forest, Akatarawa Forest, Otari-Wilton’s Bush, Wellington Botanic Garden, Massey University (Wellington Campus), University of Otago (Wellington School of Medicine & Health Science), Victoria University of Wellington (Karori, Kelburn, Pipitea and Te Aro Campuses), Wellington Institute of Technology (Wellington CBD Campus and WelTec - Petone Campus), New Zealand International Campus, Open Polytechnic New Zealand, The Learning Connexion, Wellington Harbour, City to Sea Walkway, Southern Walkway, the Hutt River Trail and various beaches.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of Wellington Harbour & Hutt Valley were the Māori people.

Included areas

Wellington Harbour & Hutt Valley encompasses the suburbs and localities of Adelaide, Akatarawa, Alicetown, Arakura, Aro Street-Nairn Street, Avalon East, Avalon West, Awarua, Belmont, Berhampore East, Berhampore West, Boulcott, Brentwood, Brooklyn, Brooklyn South, Clouston Park, Cloustonville, Crofton Downs, Delaney, Eastbourne, Ebdentown, Elderslea, Emerald Hill, Epuni East, Epuni West, Esplanade, Evans Bay Marina, Fernlea, Glendale, Gracefield, Happy Valley-Owhiro Bay, Hataitai North, Haywards-Manor Park, Heretaunga, Heretaunga-Silverstream, Holborn, Homedale East, Homedale West, Horokiwi, Hutt Central, Island Bay East, Island Bay West, Johnsonville Central, Johnsonville East, Johnsonville North, Kaiwharawhara, Karaka Bay-Worser Bay, Karori East, Karori North, Karori Park, Karori South, Kelburn, Kelson, Khandalla Park-Broadmeadows, Kilbirnie East, Kilbirnie West-Hataitai South, Kingston-Mornington, Korokoro, Lambton, Lyall Bay-Airport-Moa Point, Maidstone, Mangaroa, Makara-Ohariu, Manuka, Maoribank, Maungaraki, Maupuia, Melling, Melrose-Houghton Bay-Southgate, Miramar, Miramar North, Miramar South, Mitchelltown, Moera, Moonshine Valley, Mt Cook-Wallace Street, Mt Victoria West, Naenae North, Naenae South, Newlands East, Newlands North, Newlands South, Newtown East, Newtown West, Ngaio South, Ngauranga East, Ngauranga West, Normandale, Northland, Northland North, Oriental Bay, Parkway, Pencarrow, Petone Central, Pinehaven, Poets Block, Rangoon Heights, Raroa, Riverstone Terraces, Roseneath, Seatoun, Seatoun Tunnel West, Seaview Marina, Strathmore Park, Taita North, Taita South, Taitville, Tawhai, Te Kainga, Te Marua, Thorndon-Tinakori Road, Tirohanga, Totara Park, Trentham North, Trentham South, Upper Hutt Central, Vogeltown, Vogeltown West, Wadestown, Waiwhetu North, Waiwhetu South, Wallaceville, Waterloo East, Waterloo West, Wellington City-Marinas, Wilford, Willis Street-Cambridge Terrace, Wilton, Woburn North and Woburn South.