Greater Wellington Regional CouncilCommunity profile
Skip to content

Te Awarua o Porirua

About the profile areas

The 2013 population for Te Awarua o Porirua is 77,742, with a population density of 3.78 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Te Awarua o Porirua is located in the southern part of the North Island, about 20 kilometres north of the Wellington CBD. Te Awarua o Porirua is bounded by the locality of Maungakotukutuku in the north, the localities of Cloustonville, Moonshine Valley, Haywards-Manor Park, Kelson, Belmont and Horokiwi in the east, the localities of Newlands North, Johnsonville East, Johnsonville North, Johnsonville Central and Makara-Ohariu in the south, and the Tasman Sea in the west.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from the 1820s, with initial industries being whaling and trading. From the late 1830s land was used for sheep grazing, with some timber and ship building industries on the south-western shore of Porirua Harbour. Population was minimal until the 1840s when land was opened up for selection. The North Island main trunk railway line opened in 1885, linking the area with Wellington, by which time farming was the main land use. Significant residential and industrial development occurred from the post-war years, with rapid growth from the 1960s into the 1980s. Steady growth continued from the 1990s, with the population rising from about 64,000 people in 1996 to nearly 78,000 people in 2013. Growth is expected to continue, including the further development of the southern part of Aotea.

Land use

Te Awarua o Porirua features urban and rural areas. Urban areas are largely in the south and south-west and along the western coast, around the two arms of the Porirua Harbour. The urban areas include residential, commercial, industrial, institutional and recreational land use. There is a large rural hinterland, particularly in the north and east, which is used mainly for farming. Te Awarua o Porirua encompasses a total land area of about 200 square kilometres.


Te Awarua o Porirua is served by State Highway 1, State Highway 58, the Johnsonville-Porirua Motorway and the North Island main trunk railway.

Major features

Major features of the area include the Porirua City Centre, North City Shopping Centre, North City MegaCentre, Tawa Mall, Dress Smart Factory Outlet, Te Rauparaha Arena (including Arena Aquatic Centre), New Zealand Police Museum, Pataka Museum of Arts and Cultures, Porirua Hospital Museum, Porirua Harbour, Whitby Lakes, Aotea Lagoon, Belmont Regional Park, Battle Hill Farm Forest Park, Arohata Women’s Prison, Royal New Zealand Police College, Whitireia Polytechnic (Porirua Campus), Judgeford Golf Club, Pāuatahanui Golf Club, Titahi Golf Club, and various parks and beaches.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of Te Awarua o Porirua were the Māori people.

Included areas

Te Awarua o Porirua encompasses the suburbs and localities of Adventure, Ascot Park, Cannons Creek East, Cannons Creek North, Cannons Creek South, Churton Park North, Churton Park South, Discovery, Elsdon- Takapūwāhia, Endeavour, Glenside North, Greenacres, Grenada North, Grenada Village, Linden, Mana-Camborne, Onepoto, Paekākāriki Hill, Papakōwhai North, Papakōwhai South, Paparangi, Paparangi West, Paremata-Postgate, Pāuatahanui, Plimmerton, Porirua Central, Porirua East, Pukerua Bay, Rānui Heights, Resolution, Takapu, Tawa Central, Tawa South, Titahi Bay North, Titahi Bay South, Waitangirua and Woodridge.